Featured Latest Lester Bowles Pearson Phil Esposito TBT Ted Lindsay Throwback Thursdays

Throwback Thursday – 1/24/19

Throwback Thursday - 1/24/19

Welcome back to the normal Throwback Thursday!

Having fun with what if each staff needed to change captain with another captain? (You will see Part 1, Half Two and Part Three here) model new collection. This is truly based mostly on the whole idea of "ice hockey history" that impressed Throwback Thursday on this website. In this collection, we take a look at the historical past of some NHL awards. This week we’ll begin the Ted Lindsay Award, which has long been the Lester B. Pearson Award.

What’s the Ted Lindsay Award?

Ted Lindsay Prize (left) And Ted Lindsay (
Photograph: NHLPA.com

It’s considered one of NHL's most essential honors and is awarded yearly to probably the most outstanding participant within the NHL Gamers' Association.

Then OK, who was this guy from Lester B. Pearson? a man with a passion for sports activities and politics, he enrolled on the school of Victoria at the age of 16 and was too young to enroll within the military when Canada joined the First World Warfare in 1914, so he joined a university-sponsored hospital unit. Canada's participation in or participation within the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) instructed plan for British and French to return from Egypt in the course of the Suez disaster. was the idea for Pearson, who gained the Nobel Peace Prize in 1957.

Lester B. Pearson is introduced in Oslo by accepting the Nobel Peace Prize on December 10, 1956. Photograph: AP

After gaining control of the Liberal Get together in Canada, Pearson ultimately turned Canadian Prime Minister 1963. After retiring from Trudea in 1968, underneath his leadership, the government carried out a Canadian pension scheme, a basic medical system, a uniform armed drive and a new nation flag. These achievements, along together with his former co-operation with the Toronto University Varsity Blues Males's Ice Hockey Group as a participant and coach, led the NHL Players Association (NHLPA), which honored the award that was awarded to probably the most outstanding participant as a result of NHLPA members voted for Pearson. The Lester B. Pearson Prize was first awarded in 1970-71 to Boston Bruins Phil Espositio.

Esposito with a new prize next to her nickname. Photograph: Canadian Sports Corridor of Fame

Takes a glance, but who was Ted Lindsay?

Photograph: NHL.com

Ted Lindsay, born July 29, 1925, is a Corridor of Fame Detroit Purple Wings player who deserved the nickname "Terrible Ted" for his toughness and willpower. With a view to get an concept of ​​his which means in hockey historical past, Lindsay was voted one of many 100 largest gamers of the NHL in the course of the league's century. Throughout his career, Lindsay scored over 800 factors, some of the monumental ranks of NHL with Sid Abel and Gordie Howe, referred to as the "Production Line".

The production line. Gordie Howe, Sid Abel and Ted Lindsay

In the course of the 1949-50 season, Lindsay gained the Greatest Scorer in the Art Ross League with 78 points and Wings continued to win the Stanley Cup this season as nicely. Along with being a winner of the Stanley Cup 4 occasions, you make NHLPA with Doug Harvey. Lindsay has been acknowledged as one of many first players to slide the monitor after the Cup win. Allan Maki and The Globe and Mail set the stage for the 2013 article revealed on the Stanley Cup Playoff events and included Lindsay and the 1950 Cup Champion Pink Wings:

“Night time April 23, 1950, Lindsay's Detroit Purple Wings and visiting Rangers went to Double Recreation 7 to overcome Stanley Cup champion. It was the first time in NHL history when the Cup Remaining had gone additional time in Recreation 7. Ultimately Pete Babando received her fourth Cup for Detroit.

Then, after the Babando aim, Lindsay, nonetheless spitting 93 and 87 at the time of the Globe and Mail article, occurred:

“At the moment that they had a desk (on ice). They took it out of rubbish or some place in Detroit Olympia. It was just a small desk with four timber and a Stanley Cup. There was no upholstery (table). They introduced it to Jack Adams (Director Basic of Detroit). When it was over, the players took it to a room where you’d by no means have seen it once more until you gained it again.

"There was no parade, no day at the Cup."

However earlier than it was taken to the Purple Wings locker room, Lindsay knew what she had with the Cup.

”I admitted who paid the salary. It was not the house owners – [Conn] Smythe in Toronto, [James] in Norris Detroit. It was individuals in the seats. I went to the top [faceoff] as a result of there was an open seat. There was no glass around the boards, as it is now. On the end of the soccer we had a hen lead.

“I saw all the people who sat down and picked it up and took it to them. I wanted them to see the Stanley Cup close by. They had to read its names. ”

Globe and Mail observed another essential factor:“ Has he carried a cup on his head? Yes, Lindsay did. ”

Lindsey's improvements led to such moments. Photograph: Sportsnet

Lindsay continued to play in her feedback after which ruled Purple Wings (and makes herself a terrible stretch of Three-14-Three earlier than pulling out). During his management, he was appointed head of the NHL in 1977. All-Star, NHL's second group, All-Star, was invited to 11 All-Star games, whose quantity was # 7 on Pink Wings. The most important record of 100 gamers taken to the Canadian Sports Corridor in 2002 and included in the Hockey Fame history in 1966.

I might watch previous hockey films all day. Photograph: NHL.com

Now that we all know what it’s and who Lester and Ted are who’ve gained the prize?

No people to get began with our NHL award winner, here’s a record of each winner B. Pearson / Ted Lindsay Prize:

Ted Lindsay Prize Winners
  • 2018: Connor McDavid Edmonton Oilers
  • 2017: Connor McDavid Edmonton Oilers
  • 2016: Patrick Kane Chicago Blackhawks
  • 2015: Carey Worth Montreal Canadiens
  • 2014: Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh Penguins
  • Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh Penguins [1965925]: Evgeni Malkin Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2011: Daniel Sedin Vancouver Canucks
  • 2010: Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals

    Washington Capitals

    Lester B. Pearson Prize Winners

  • 2009: Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals
  • 2008: Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals
  • 2007: Sidney Cr Osby Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2006: Jaromir Jagr New York Rangers [196] 59025] 2004: Martin St. Louis Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 2003: Markus Naslund Vancouver Canucks 2003